Prof. Stühn
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics

The research topics of the Stühn Group included polymers in restricted geometry, complex fluids from microemulsions and polymers or glas transition.

Please consider the German version of this site.

Experiments in soft matter physics often deal with complex systems and the combination of different experimental methods is necessary to arrive at results.

Our group is specialized on scattering experiments with different probes (X-rays, neutrons, light) which we apply and try to advance. In addition to that we maintain instruments for polymer characterization and for the measurements that are specific to certain research projects.

X-Ray scattering

We do small-angle-X-ray-scattering in two different set-ups.

A pinhole system with a sample chamber that allows a wide range of experimental conditions combined with a 2d detector.

A classical Kratky compact camera for experiments on isotropically scattering systems.

X-ray diffractometry and –reflectometry is done with a Bruker D8 Advance diffractometer. In particular we do reflectometry on the liquid-gas interface.

Photon correlation spectroscopy

A light scattering set-up is combined with an ALV correlator and a cryostat to allow quasieelastic light scattering in a wide temperature range.

Dielectric spectroscopy

Two experimental instruments are used to study the dielectric function of (mainly) liquid samples in a wide temperature range. Combining both methods a range of frequencies from mHz to GHz is covered.

Differential scanning analysis

For the characterization of polymers as well as for the study of the glass transition we use a TA Instruments DSC. The instrument allows standard DSC measurements and thermally modulated DSC.

Isotherms of monolayers

Two set-ups are used to measure the isotherms of monomolecular layers on a liquid subphase.



  Name Contact
Prof. Dr. Bernd Stühn
Photo Name Contact
Dr. Christian Appel
Dr. Markus Appel
Andreas Barz M.Sc.
Lucas Becker BSc
Andreas Bischof M.Sc.
Marie-Luise Braatz M.Sc.
Dr. Haiko Didzoleit
Thorsten Ederer M.Sc.
Dr. Martin Engel
Dr. Christoph Gögelein
Emmanuel Gouirand M.Sc.
Dr. Ann-Kathrin Grefe
Dipl.-Phys. Phillipp Gutfreund
Stephan Hillmann M.Sc.
Sebastian Jaksch M.Sc.
Carsten Jurezka B.Sc.
Sören Kaufmann B.Sc.
Dr. Marina Khaneft
Dr. Chang Jong Kim
Dr. Martin Kraska
Dr. Björn Kuttich
Allyn Lange B.Sc.
Dr. Christina Lederle
Junyu Li M.Sc.
Manuela Lukas M.Sc.
Felix Mahler M.Sc.
Dr. rer. nat. Mie Marsilius
Dr. Alexander Matt
Sofiya Raleva M.Sc.
Thomas Sattelmaier
Dr. Sebastian Schramm
Dr. Tinka Spehr
Cornelia Strübig B.Sc.
Laura Vietze MSc.
Andreas Weber M.Sc.
Steffen Weber B.Sc.
Dr. Robert Wipf
Shun Yu M.Sc.
Dr. Fajun Zhang
Dr. Sergej Zhukov