Ostwald Colloquium: Interface-Mediated Processes in Soft Matter
13–15 September 2023, Technical University of Darmstadt

Scientific Programme

Invited Speakers

Picture: Jörg Simanowski

Andreas Fery (Dresden)

Andreas Fery is professor for physical chemistry of polymeric materials at the Technical University Dresden, and Director of the Institute for Physical Chemistry and Polymer Physics at the Leibniz-Institute of Polymer Research Dresden.


Matthias Karg (Düsseldorf)

Matthias Karg is professor at Heinrich Heine University and heads a group on colloids and nanooptics.


Picture: Georg Pöhlein

Karl Mandel (Erlangen)

Karl Mandel is professor for inorganic chemistry at Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg and head of the Supraparticle Group.


Ofer Manor (Haifa)

Professor Ofer Manor heads the Surfaces and Colloids Group at the Technion IIT.


Picture: RSC Soft Matter

Julian Oberdisse

Julian Oberdisse is professor and directeur de recherche at the Laboratoire Charles Coulomb in Montpellier, France.


Wolfgang Peukert (Erlangen)

Wolfgang Peukert heads the Institute of Particle Technology in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.


Valérie Ravaine (Bordeaux)

Valérie Ravaine is professor at Bordeaux INP and carries out her research at the Institut des Sciences Moléculaires at Université de Bordeaux, France. She is part of the research group 'Analytical Nanosystems' located at ENSCBP.


Emanuel Schneck (Darmstadt)

Professor Emanuel Schneck heads the group Soft Matter Biophysics at the Institute for Condensed Matter Physics at the Technical University of Darmstadt.


Doris Segets (Duisburg-Essen)

Doris Segets holds a chair for Particle Science and Technology at the Institute for Energy and Materials Processes at the University of Duisburg-Essen.


Cosima Stubenrauch (Stuttgart)

Cosima Stubenrauch holds the Chair of Physical Chemistry of Condensed Matter at the University of Stuttgart where she heads the research group Colloid and Interface Science.


Loughborough University
Picture: MT Andres

Uwe Thiele (Münster)

Uwe Thiele is professor at the Institute of Theoretical Physics at the University of Münster. He heads the group Self-Organization and Complexity.


Nicolas Vogel (Erlangen)

Nicolas Vogel is professor at the Department Chemical and Biological Engineering at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. He heads the Self-assembled Materials Group.


Time table

Wednesday, 13 September 2023
  • Registration (S1|03, Room 282 | Hochschulstraße 1, 64283 Darmstadt)
  • Attach Posters Session A
13:20 Introductory remarks (S1|03, Room 283 | Hochschulstraße 1, 64283 Darmstadt)
13:30 Oral Session 1: Talks I1 and C1-C4
  • Coffee break
  • Attach Posters Session A
16:00 Oral Session 2: Talks I2, C5, I3 and C6
18:00 – 20:00 Poster Session A
Thursday, 14 September 2023
9:00 Oral Session 3: Talks I4, C7 and C8
  • Coffee break
  • Attach Posters Session B
10:40 Oral Session 4: Talks I5-I7
  • Lunch
  • Poster Session B
14:40 Oral Session 5: Talks I8, I9 and C9
16:20 Coffee break
16:40 – 18:20 Oral Session 6: Talks I10 and C10-C12
20:00 Conference Dinner (Shiraz, Dieburger Straße 73, 64287 Darmstadt)
Friday, 15 September 2023
9:00 Oral Session 7: Talks I11 and C13-C16
11:00 Coffee break
11:20 Oral Session 8: Talks C17-C19 and I12
13:00 Final remarks and end of colloquium